2016 Finalists

Congratulations to the following finalists:



Spatial Industries Business Association Award for Export


·        Aurecon 

 Melbourne Metro Mail

·        CoreLogic New Zealand 


·        ThunderMaps 

ThunderMaps Europe


Land Information New Zealand Environment and Sustainability Award


·        OSPRI New Zealand 

TBfree Programme- Possum Habitat

·        Predator Free New Zealand Trust 

Predator Free NZ The Map

·        Statistics New Zealand / Ministry for the Environment

Environment Aotearoa 2015


CoreLogic Innovation and Commercialisation Award


·        Ballance Agri-Nutrients 


·        Marlborough District Council 

Cruise Guide to the Marlborough Sounds

·        Ravensdown Limited 



Statistics New Zealand People and Community Award


·        Eliot Sinclair and Partners Ltd 

Redcliffs School- communicating natural hazard risk awareness

·        Predator Free New Zealand Trust 

Predator Free NZ

·        Wellington City Council 

 Living Lab


e-Spatial Spatial Enablement Award


·        Critchlow Limited 

Student Transport Route Optimiser sets new benchmark for Ministry of Education 


·        Department of Conservation 

 ESRI and Geocortex - Putting Green and Gold on the Map

·        Ministry for Primary Industries 

Geospatial Capability Programme - Geospatial Platform

·        New Zealand Transport Agency

Spatially enabling a thriving NZ


NationalMap™ Technical Excellence Award


·        CoreLogic New Zealand 

Practical Driver Testing - A Joint Initiative Between New Zealand Transport Agency and CoreLogic NZ

·        National Geodetic Office, Land Information New Zealand 
Improving New Zealand's vertical datum


·        Stronger Christchurch Infrastructure Rebuild Team (SCIRT) GIS Team 
A Dynamic Process Governance Model for Quality Assurance and Delivery of Infrastructure Survey Data


New Zealand Institute of Surveyors Education & Professional Development Award


·        Sophie Curtis-Ham, New Zealand Police

·        Nicola Hodson, Tauranga Girls' College

·        Dr Antoni Moore, University of Otago


Eagle Technology Professional of the Year Award


·        Nathan Heazlewood, Eagle Technology

·        Wendy Lawson, University of Canterbury

·        Norm Thornley, Department of Conservation


Eagle Technology Young Professional of the Year Award


·        Robyn Crisford

·        Kurt Janssen

·        James Lyth


Postgraduate Student of the Year Award


·        Daniel Hogg

·        Mike McConachie


Wellington City Council Undergraduate Student of the Year Award


·        Andrew Douglas-Clifford

·        Jeanette Ma


Supreme Excellence Award


The 2016 NZSEA Supreme Excellence Award will be announced at the Gala Prize Dinner on 16 November. It is selected from one of the organisational category winners by the Judging Panel. The Supreme Award, in the judges’ opinion, represents the pinnacle of achievement in the spatial industry.



Finalists for 2015

Education & Professional Development    

Mairead de Roiste

Victoria University of Wellington

Submission title

Innovative teacher passionate about building geospatial capability

Simon Kingham

University of Canterbury

Submission title

Leadership in Health and Urban Research and Education

Duane Wilkins

Department of Conservation

Submission title

Supporting Indigenous Community GIS Development

Students of the Year

Richard Law

Victoria University of Wellington

Submission title

Modelling public transport accessibility with RTI

Judy Rodda

University of Otago

Submission title

Spatial and Visual Analysis of Dolphin Abundance and Distribution

Anton Maris

Waikato University

Submission title

An Agent Base Population Distribution Model

Hamish Kingsbury

University of Canterbury

Submission title

Incorporating Road Safety into a Vehicle Routing Network

Professional of the year

Matti Seikkula


Submission title

Growing the spatial pie

Norm Thornley

Department of Conservation

Submission title

Pulling together Conservation GIS at DOC

Young Professional of the Year

Sophie Curtis-Ham

New Zealand Police

Submission title

Developing spatial capability in the New Zealand Police

Natalie Scott

Interpret Geospatial Solutions

Submission title

Natalie Scott: An Exceptional Professional

Melissa O'Brien

Eliot Sinclair and Partners Ltd.

Submission title

Graduate Surveyor

Spatial Enablement

Melissa West


Submission title

Not our fault - enhanced decision making ability at Transpower

Andrew Cullen

Network Delivery Alliance

Submission title

Enabling an Integrated System

Karen Grant

Tauranga City Council

Submission title

TCC: Improving the management of Three Waters networks

Technical Excellence

Dale Harris

Interpret Geospatial Solutions

Submission title

Vehicle speed and curve risk modelling for road safety

Michael Gin

Auckland Council

Submission title

Geospatial Future Mode of Operation (GFMO)


Wayne Tyson

Department of Conservation

Submission title

Battle for our Birds

Gerard Lelieveld

Eagle Technology Group

Submission title

Remote Seismic Survey - A Spatial Approach

Julie Reynolds

Scouts New Zealand

Submission title

Putting Scouts on the Map